







United Nations • Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization •

### **TCG Governance**



#### **TCG Governance**

- Slightly revised TCG TORs intended to clarify relationship with partners and other UIS-led Expert Groups including the GAML and the IAG-EII
- Proposal for the rotation of TCG Members to be undertaken in 2018 at the same time as the membership of the Education 2030 Steering Committee is reviewed
- Mirrors policy adopted by the IAEG-SDGs
- Proposal adapted following feedback at the third TCG Meeting in Montreal

# **Rotation policy**

- Current membership:
  - 28 Member States
  - 2 civil society representatives
  - 3 multilateral partners (OECD, UNICEF, World Bank)
  - 4 UNESCO representatives (including two co-Chairs)
  - 1 Education 2030 Steering Committee co-Chair
- Members should be experts in their respective fields with emphasis on education, statistics and the SDGs



## **Rotation policy**

- Each constituency will be invited to confirm existing or nominate new representatives
- For Member States, each UNESCO Regional Group will be invited to confirm/nominate representatives within their group
- Aim, as with IAEG-SDGs, will be to rotate some members while retaining continuity and institutional memory for continuing work
- Recommend maintaining links (ie some members in common) between TCG and (i) IAEG-SDGs and (ii) Education 2030 Steering Committee
- Country membership to be reduced from 28 to 27 (to match IAEG-SDGs)
- Outgoing members invited to continue as Observers



#### **TCG Member States**

Regional Group	TCG	Future number of members
Western Europe and North America	Canada, France, Germany, Netherlands, Sweden, UK	4
Eastern Europe	Armenia, Russian Federation	3
Latin America and the Caribbean	Brazil, Colombia, Cuba, Jamaica, Mexico	5
Asia and Pacific	China, Fiji, India, Kyrgyzstan, Philippines, Samoa	6
Sub-Saharan Africa	Botswana, Cabo Verde, Cameroon, Senegal, Uganda, UR Tanzania	6
Arab States	Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt	3

**Red = IAEG and ED2030 SC Members, Blue = ED2030 SC Members** 

